Concise Encyclopedia of Tufts HistorySauer, Anne
Alumnae Hall, 1955
|Alumnae Hall, on the Medford campus, was constructed in 1953 for the Tufts Alumni Association from funds raised by Tufts and Jackson alumni. It connects Jackson Gymnasium to the Aidekman Arts Center, originally the Cohen Arts Building.|
The main floor of Alumnae Hall is occupied by a large lounge decorated with murals depicting the founding and first one hundred years of Tufts history. The murals were painted by two Boston artists, Nathaniel J. Jacobson and Matthew W. Boyhan.
In addition to the lounge, Alumnae Hall contains a kitchen and several offices. The building's architect was Arland A. Dirlam.
Source: FAS; RNCB3
The encyclopedia seeks to capture more than 150 years of Tufts' achievements, societal contributions and outstanding alumni and faculty in concise entries. As a source of accurate factual information, the Encyclopedia can be used by anyone interested in the history of Tufts and of the people who have made it the unique institution it is.