Concise Encyclopedia of Tufts HistorySauer, Anne
Alumni House, 1933
|Alumni House, located at 95 Talbot Avenue on the Medford campus, was built by Clarence "Pop" Houston in 1933 to serve as his residence. The house was allegedly the only home built in Somerville that year due to the Depression. After Houston's death in 1965, the house was given to the university. Since that time it has served as the home of the Office of Alumni Relations, which gives it its current name.|
The house was designed by Andrews, Jones, Biscoe, and Whitmore, architects of many buildings on the Medford campus.
Source: FAS; HOH
The encyclopedia seeks to capture more than 150 years of Tufts' achievements, societal contributions and outstanding alumni and faculty in concise entries. As a source of accurate factual information, the Encyclopedia can be used by anyone interested in the history of Tufts and of the people who have made it the unique institution it is.