Concise Encyclopedia of Tufts HistorySauer, Anne
Blakeslee House, 1939
Blakeslee House, located at 132 Curtis Street on the Medford campus, was constructed in 1925 and purchased by the university in 1939 to serve as a dormitory for women students at the Fletcher School. It was named in honor of Professor George W. Blakeslee, one of the original faculty members of the Fletcher School.
During World War II, Blakeslee house was shared by the Fletcher School with Jackson College and the Bouve-Boston School. Blakeslee Hall was relinquished by the Fletcher School upon the completion of Mugar Hall in 1964.
As of 2005, Blakeslee House is again used by the Fletcher School of Law and Diplomacy.
Source: LOH1; LOH2
The encyclopedia seeks to capture more than 150 years of Tufts' achievements, societal contributions and outstanding alumni and faculty in concise entries. As a source of accurate factual information, the Encyclopedia can be used by anyone interested in the history of Tufts and of the people who have made it the unique institution it is.