Concise Encyclopedia of Tufts HistorySauer, Anne
Bush Hall, 1959
|Bush Hall, located at 29 Latin Way, was originally built as a women's dormitory for Jackson College. Named in honor of Edith Linwood Bush, W1903, Dean of Jackson (1925-1952), it was designed by Perry, Shaw Hepburn and Dean. It was dedicated November 29, 1959, simultaneously with Dewick Dinning Hall. The dormitory contains fifty-one double rooms and three single person rooms.|
In 1991, no undergraduates resided in Bush as a result of the lowered demand for campus housing due to the combination of South Hall's completion and low rental fees for off campus housing. This surplus of housing allowed fifty-six graduate students to be housed in Bush for the academic year.
Bush underwent major renovations in 1995, in conjunction with the remodeling of Dewick/MacPhie Dinning Hall. The original first floor lounge was torn down to create a loading dock for the dinning hall, with a new lounge being constructed in conjunction with study rooms, a TV room, and kitchen facilities.
As of 2000, Bush Hall continues to be used a co-educational dormitory for undergraduate students.
Source: BG3; FAS; TD, September 9, 1991; TD, February 3, 1995; April 14, 1995
The encyclopedia seeks to capture more than 150 years of Tufts' achievements, societal contributions and outstanding alumni and faculty in concise entries. As a source of accurate factual information, the Encyclopedia can be used by anyone interested in the history of Tufts and of the people who have made it the unique institution it is.