Concise Encyclopedia of Tufts HistorySauer, Anne
Dean Hall, 1887-1963
Dean Hall was constructed in 1887 with funds donated by Oliver Dean to serve as a dormitory for men on the Medford Campus. For a time after its initial construction it was known as Thayer Hall.
It accommodated 24 students in suites consisting of a study and two bedrooms.
In 1963, Dean Hall was demolished to make way for the extension of the Fletcher School's facilities, with the addition of Mugar Hall on to the western end of Goddard.
The encyclopedia seeks to capture more than 150 years of Tufts' achievements, societal contributions and outstanding alumni and faculty in concise entries. As a source of accurate factual information, the Encyclopedia can be used by anyone interested in the history of Tufts and of the people who have made it the unique institution it is.