Concise Encyclopedia of Tufts HistorySauer, Anne
Graves House, 1895-1986
|Graves House, formerly located at 18 Latin Way, was constructed in 1895 by professor Frank P. Graves of the classical philology department. It was used as a student residence after Graves retired, and continued in that use until it was razed to make way for the Mayer Campus Center in 1986.|
The house served as the chapter house for Delta Tau Delta fraternity in 1915. The building, designed by architects Johnson & Whitcomb, was heavily damaged by fire in 1925.
The encyclopedia seeks to capture more than 150 years of Tufts' achievements, societal contributions and outstanding alumni and faculty in concise entries. As a source of accurate factual information, the Encyclopedia can be used by anyone interested in the history of Tufts and of the people who have made it the unique institution it is.