Concise Encyclopedia of Tufts HistorySauer, Anne
Hamilton Pool, 1945
|The first permanent construction project completed after World War II was Hamilton Pool, designed by Tufts architect Arland Dirlam. Built as an addition to the structure, the pool was constructed during the winter of 1945-46 and opened the following summer. Although the pool was originally intended to be named "Fletcher Swimming Pool," since its construction costs were partially financed by Austin B. Fletcher Estate funds, it was instead named for Frederick W. Hamilton, A1888, who was the fourth president of Tufts College.|
Source: LOH1, 651; FAS
The encyclopedia seeks to capture more than 150 years of Tufts' achievements, societal contributions and outstanding alumni and faculty in concise entries. As a source of accurate factual information, the Encyclopedia can be used by anyone interested in the history of Tufts and of the people who have made it the unique institution it is.