Concise Encyclopedia of Tufts HistorySauer, Anne
Hillside House, 1959
|Hillside House, located at 32 Dearborn Road on the Medford campus, was purchased by the university in 1959 to serve the needs of commuting students. It was constructed in 1909.|
In a contest in which commuters were encouraged to nominate and vote for a name for the house, the name, Hillside House, was selected in 1960.
Hillside House provides space for commuting students to relax, study, and share meals while on campus. It also contains several rooms commuters can use when they need to spend the night on campus.
The house is governed by the Off-Hill Council, the student organization for commuting students.
Source: FAS; FB
The encyclopedia seeks to capture more than 150 years of Tufts' achievements, societal contributions and outstanding alumni and faculty in concise entries. As a source of accurate factual information, the Encyclopedia can be used by anyone interested in the history of Tufts and of the people who have made it the unique institution it is.