Concise Encyclopedia of Tufts HistorySauer, Anne
Howe Memorial Laboratory, 1901-1960
|Howe Memorial Laboratory was constructed in 1901 to serve the dual purpose of a power plant for Robinson and Bromfield Pearson Halls and a laboratory for the College of Engineering. It was named in honor of Ephriam Howe, who donated the funds necessary to construct the building. Because one of its main purposes was the generation of power for the engineering buildings, it was also informally called the Power House.|
Construction of the Howe Laboratory made it possible to remove the power generation equipment which until that time had been in place in Ballou Hall.
The Howe Memorial Laboratory was demolished in 1960 after having served as a storehouse during the construction of Anderson Hall.
The encyclopedia seeks to capture more than 150 years of Tufts' achievements, societal contributions and outstanding alumni and faculty in concise entries. As a source of accurate factual information, the Encyclopedia can be used by anyone interested in the history of Tufts and of the people who have made it the unique institution it is.