Concise Encyclopedia of Tufts HistorySauer, Anne
McCollester House, 1910
Built in 1910, McCollester House is located at 28-32 Capen Street, at the intersection with Edison Avenue. Tufts purchased the house in 1966, following its vacancy as a dormitory for the Bouve-Boston School. The structure has been used since that time as student housing.
McCollester House was named for Lee S. McCollester, alumnus and dean of the Crane Theological School.
As of 2000, McCollester House is used as one of three dormitories for the university's Graduate School of Arts and Sciences.
Source: BG1, FAS
The encyclopedia seeks to capture more than 150 years of Tufts' achievements, societal contributions and outstanding alumni and faculty in concise entries. As a source of accurate factual information, the Encyclopedia can be used by anyone interested in the history of Tufts and of the people who have made it the unique institution it is.