Concise Encyclopedia of Tufts HistorySauer, Anne
Mellen, Helen L., 1836-1929
|Helen L. Mellen (1836-1929) was the first full-time librarian of Tufts College. She was appointed an assistant in the library in 1869 and served in that capacity until 1884, when she became librarian. Until that time librarian duties were managed by faculty members. She retired in 1907 and was voted Librarian Emeritus in 1910.|
Mellen built the house at 126 Packard Avenue in 1883 and lived there until 1903.During that time she boarded students at her residence, and the house was known as Mellen House.
The encyclopedia seeks to capture more than 150 years of Tufts' achievements, societal contributions and outstanding alumni and faculty in concise entries. As a source of accurate factual information, the Encyclopedia can be used by anyone interested in the history of Tufts and of the people who have made it the unique institution it is.