Concise Encyclopedia of Tufts HistorySauer, Anne
Packard Hall, 1856
|Packard Hall, constructed in 1856, was the first dormitory, and the second building constructed for residential or instructional purposes on the Medford campus. Originally designated "Building A," it quickly became known simply as the Boarding House. Students resided in the rooms on the upper floors while the lower level was used as a dining hall. A large barn at the rear of the building housed farm animals and tools, as well as the toilet facilities. In 1885 and 1886 the library was moved from Ballou Hall into the structure, at which point it became known as the Library. The first floor rooms were converted into reading rooms and a curved addition was added on to the back of the building to house the stacks. Students continued to live in the building until 1901. The Library was moved into the Eaton Memorial Library upon its completion in 1908, at which point Packard Hall assumed its current name. From 1910 until 1915, Packard Hall was assigned as temporary quarters for the Crane Theological School, which had been disposessed of Miner Hall by the newly formed Jackson College for women. In 1915, Packard Hall was assigned to the Department of English.|
As of 1999, Packard Hall houses the Development Office and other administrative departments.
The encyclopedia seeks to capture more than 150 years of Tufts' achievements, societal contributions and outstanding alumni and faculty in concise entries. As a source of accurate factual information, the Encyclopedia can be used by anyone interested in the history of Tufts and of the people who have made it the unique institution it is.