Concise Encyclopedia of Tufts HistorySauer, Anne
Richardson House, 1857
|Richardson House, originally known simply as Building B, was built in 1857 to relieve crowded dormitory conditions on campus. It was originally located on the present site of . In 1910 the building was renamed Richardson House after Mary Richardson, a long time friend and benefactor of the university.|
The original structure was built for $3,161.50, and was used as a dormitory for three years, until the completion of . It was not named, and in university records it is referred to simply as Building B. After opened, the building was converted to a home for professors Keen and Schneider.
In 1870, the entire building was relocated to Professor's Row, where it remained home to Professor Schneider until his death. In 1910, Richardson, as it became known, was fully renovated to serve as a dormitory for Jackson College. In 1923, the building was again renovated. Its size was doubled, with the original building serving as the western half of the present dormitory. During WWII, Richardson was given over to the army and used as a barracks, but after the war it was returned to Tufts and continued to serve as a Jackson dorm.
As of 2000, Richardson House serves as the only single-sex dorm on campus, for women undergraduates.
Source: BG#010, RNTB1
The encyclopedia seeks to capture more than 150 years of Tufts' achievements, societal contributions and outstanding alumni and faculty in concise entries. As a source of accurate factual information, the Encyclopedia can be used by anyone interested in the history of Tufts and of the people who have made it the unique institution it is.