Concise Encyclopedia of Tufts HistorySauer, Anne
Start House, located at 15-17 Latin Way on the Medford campus, was built in 1897 by Edwin A. Start, A1884, faculty member from 1892 to 1900. Tufts purchased the house in 1897. It became the second women's domitory from 1901 to 1925, then a residence for the dean of the engineering school from 1925 to 1972.
As of 2000, used as the Asian-American Center.
Source: FAS; RNCH2
The encyclopedia seeks to capture more than 150 years of Tufts' achievements, societal contributions and outstanding alumni and faculty in concise entries. As a source of accurate factual information, the Encyclopedia can be used by anyone interested in the history of Tufts and of the people who have made it the unique institution it is.