Concise Encyclopedia of Tufts HistorySauer, Anne
Stratton Hall, 1927
was constructed in 1927 following a bequest of $50,000 to the college by Martha Stratton Ensign, who had inherited her father's estate. It was built to serve as a central dormitory for Jackson College, eliminating the need for the "cottage system" of housing in practice, which had Jackson students residing in several Tufts-owned houses around the campus.
|The new dormitory included a suite on the lower level for a house mistress, a "sleeping porch" on the roof, and a dining hall for residents. It originally contained thirty-two single and six double rooms. The building's architects were Andrews, Jones, Biscoe, and Whitmore. With Stratton's completion, , which also had been serving as housing for Jackson students, was returned to the theological students for their use.|
During World War II, was used as a barracks for ROTC students.
As of 2000, continues to serve as a dormitory for undergraduates on the Medford campus.
Source: FAS; RNCH2; LOH1, 550; TW, September 28, 1927
The encyclopedia seeks to capture more than 150 years of Tufts' achievements, societal contributions and outstanding alumni and faculty in concise entries. As a source of accurate factual information, the Encyclopedia can be used by anyone interested in the history of Tufts and of the people who have made it the unique institution it is.