Concise Encyclopedia of Tufts HistorySauer, Anne
Sweet Hall, 1953-1999
|Sweet Hall, named for Harold E. Sweet, president of the board of trustees, was constructed in 1953 for the ROTC program. It contained offices and classrooms for the growing numbers of students enrolled in the various ROTC training programs on the Medford campus. Sweet Hall was designed by Arland A. Dirlam.|
Sweet Hall later housed the Office of the Bursar and the Office of Communications. It was demolished in 1999 to make way for Dowling Hall, the student services center and parking garage.
Source: FAS; RNTB3
The encyclopedia seeks to capture more than 150 years of Tufts' achievements, societal contributions and outstanding alumni and faculty in concise entries. As a source of accurate factual information, the Encyclopedia can be used by anyone interested in the history of Tufts and of the people who have made it the unique institution it is.