Concise Encyclopedia of Tufts HistorySauer, Anne
Tilton Hall, 1961
|Tilton Hall was constructed in 1961 to serve as a dormitory for Jackson College. It was dedicated simultaneously with Houston Hall, a new dormitory for men. Tilton Hall was designed by Perry, Shaw, Hepburn, and Dean, and was named for John P. Tilton, member of the Tufts faculty for more than thirty years and provost of the university, who died in 1959.|
As of 2005, Tilton Hall is used as a dormitory for freshmen on the Medford campus.
The encyclopedia seeks to capture more than 150 years of Tufts' achievements, societal contributions and outstanding alumni and faculty in concise entries. As a source of accurate factual information, the Encyclopedia can be used by anyone interested in the history of Tufts and of the people who have made it the unique institution it is.