Concise Encyclopedia of Tufts HistorySauer, Anne
Wilson House, 1936
Wilson House, located at 136 Curtis Street on the Medford campus, was constructed in 1908 and purchased by Tufts in 1936.The house was purchased to serve as a residence for male students of the Fletcher School and was named in honor of George Grafton Wilson, one of the original members of the school's faculty.
After being purchased by Tufts, a large addition designed by Andrews, Jones, Biscoe, and Whitmore, was made to the original structure. Male Fletcher students occupied the house until World War II, when it became a residence for female Fletcher students and students of the Bouve-Boston School.
The Fletcher School turned Wilson House over to Arts and Sciences in 1962, with the completion of Mugar Hall. Since that time Wilson House has served as an undergraduate residence.
Source: FAS; LOH1; LOH2
The encyclopedia seeks to capture more than 150 years of Tufts' achievements, societal contributions and outstanding alumni and faculty in concise entries. As a source of accurate factual information, the Encyclopedia can be used by anyone interested in the history of Tufts and of the people who have made it the unique institution it is.