Concise Encyclopedia of Tufts HistorySauer, Anne
Wyeth House, 1910
Wyeth House, probably named after donor Edwin Wyeth, was purchased by Tufts Uninversity in 1952 to serve as a Jackson dormitory.
Built in 1910, Wyeth House served as a private residence until its sale to the university in 1952.During the summer of that year, Wyeth House was completely renovated and converted into a dormitory. Sixteen Jackson undergraduates became Wyeth House's first residents in the fall of 1952.
Edwin Wyeth, after whom the house is probably named, left $50,000 to the university through a trust fund in the mid-1930s.
With the completion of new dorms during the 1960s, Wyeth House was converted to serve as the German Culture House. Located on Whitfield Street on the Medford campus, residents enjoy a friendly rivalry with their neighbors in Schmalz House, the French Culture House, located next door. Aside from the Thanksgiving break theft of $1480 worth of student property in 1973, Wyeth House's history has been relatively quiet.
As of 2000, Wyeth House continues to serve as the German Culture House.
Source: TW, TD, VF
The encyclopedia seeks to capture more than 150 years of Tufts' achievements, societal contributions and outstanding alumni and faculty in concise entries. As a source of accurate factual information, the Encyclopedia can be used by anyone interested in the history of Tufts and of the people who have made it the unique institution it is.