Concise Encyclopedia of Tufts HistorySauer, Anne
20 Professors Row, 1854
|The house now located at 20 Professors Row is the second oldest building constructed on the campus. Built in 1854 to serve as a residence for Tufts' first president, Hosea Ballou 2d, it was originally situated between Ballou Hall and Professors Row, roughly where the tennis courts on Packard Avenue lie. The house was moved in the early 1870s, probably to make way for the construction of Packard Avenue. After the death of Ballou, it continued to serve as the residence for Ballou's family. When it was relocated to Professors Row, it was used as a residence for several members of the faculty including Professor Leonard of the divinity school, Professor Lewis, and Dean Ratcliff of the School of Religion.|
The encyclopedia seeks to capture more than 150 years of Tufts' achievements, societal contributions and outstanding alumni and faculty in concise entries. As a source of accurate factual information, the Encyclopedia can be used by anyone interested in the history of Tufts and of the people who have made it the unique institution it is.