Concise Encyclopedia of Tufts HistorySauer, Anne
55 Talbot Avenue, 1922
|Originally built by Professor Edwin H. Wright of the College of Engineering, the house at 55 Talbot Avenue was known as Wright House for many years. The house served as the residence for Professor Wright during his lifetime and then passed to his son. It was purchased by the university in 1953, at which time it continued to serve as faculty housing and was occupied by Eugene S. Ashton, chaplain of the university.|
As of 2005, 55 Talbot Avenue serves as the home of the Women's Center.
The encyclopedia seeks to capture more than 150 years of Tufts' achievements, societal contributions and outstanding alumni and faculty in concise entries. As a source of accurate factual information, the Encyclopedia can be used by anyone interested in the history of Tufts and of the people who have made it the unique institution it is.