Concise Encyclopedia of Tufts HistorySauer, Anne
123 Packard Avenue, 1893
|123 Packard Avenue was built by Theta Delta Chi fraternity in 1893.The wooden structure, erected specifically for use as a chapter house for the fraternity was replaced with a larger brick structure in 1930.From 1943-47, the building served as the headquarters and infirmary of the Naval Unit at the college during World War II.|
As of 2000, Theta Delta Chi continues to be located at 123 Packard Avenue, from which the fraternity derives in campus nickname, "One Two Three."
The encyclopedia seeks to capture more than 150 years of Tufts' achievements, societal contributions and outstanding alumni and faculty in concise entries. As a source of accurate factual information, the Encyclopedia can be used by anyone interested in the history of Tufts and of the people who have made it the unique institution it is.