Concise Encyclopedia of Tufts HistorySauer, Anne
188 Boylston Street, 1893-1896
188 Boylston Street was the first building occupied by the medical school. It was located on the site of the current Four Seasons Hotel by the Public Garden in downtown Boston.
The medical school occupied two floors in the building with space for lecture halls, study rooms, and a bacteriology laboratory. In 1894 a third floor was added, with a chemistry lab and dissecting room.
Successful enrollments required that the school relocate after only three years in the Boylston street building. The next home of the medical school was a renovated Baptist church located on Shawmut Avenue in Boston.
The encyclopedia seeks to capture more than 150 years of Tufts' achievements, societal contributions and outstanding alumni and faculty in concise entries. As a source of accurate factual information, the Encyclopedia can be used by anyone interested in the history of Tufts and of the people who have made it the unique institution it is.