High on the Hill

Dixon, Linda J.
1979

THE WESSELL LIBRARY

THE WESSELL LIBRARY

 

This pleasant terrace on which we are standing is the roof of the Nils Y. Wessell Library. Completed in 1965, this handsome building has attracted the attention of architects and educators nationwide. The architects who designed the building, Campbell, Aldrich and McNulty of Boston, had to meet certain stipulations about the size and appearance of the structure laid down by Tufts. The library had to be large, yet located in a limited area. The building could not overshadow the beautiful chapel, which has served as a landmark for many years. It should interrupt the topography as little as possible and preserve the natural beauty of the area. The roof should be a parkland of grass to conserve the greenery of the campus. The result is this unique, practical, and commodious building named for the president of Tufts, 1953-1966. You will remember we mentioned that the Medford-Somerville line bisects the campus; there are two granite markers here to show where it angles across this library!