Pratt Clinic/New England Center Hospital records, 1929-1990


This collection has:

13.75 cubic ft.

The Pratt Clinic/New England Center Hospital (PC/NECH) began as a twenty bed diagnostic ward within the Boston Dispensary (BD) and later expanded into its own institution dedicated to teaching, research, and patient care. Moreover, this three-pronged approach to medical care, developed at the PC, predicated the New England Medical Center’s evolution from overseer organization to unified medical institution uniting the BD, Boston Floating Hospital (BFH), the PC/NECH, and Tufts University School of Medicine. The BD’s Physician-in-Chief, Joseph Pratt, along with Samuel Proger and William Bingham II, facilitated the expansion of the ward into the Pratt Diagnostic Hospital, built in 1938. In 1946 it separated from the BD and following the death of Dr. Pratt in 1948, it was renamed the Pratt Clinic/New England Center Hospital. In March of 1965, the PC/NECH officially merged with the BD and the BFH to form the New England Center Medical Hospitals (NEMCH), the primary teaching hospitals of the Tufts University School of Medicine. The School of Medicine and NEMCH later became the Tufts-New England Medical Center. It was renamed in 2008 to the Tufts Medical Center, and is located in Boston, Massachusetts.

View Finding Aid

A finding aid is a description of a collection of archival material, which will help you discover what records are available for research. It provides information about a collection, the collection's creators, and an outline of the collection's contents. Learn more about finding aids.