Facilities Management Records, 1849 -- 2004
This collection has:
12.2 Cubic Feet
24 boxes and 14 oversize folders
72 Digital Object(s)
The Department of Grounds and Buildings was created during the latter half of the nineteenth century, with the purpose of maintaining the grounds and buildings of Tufts College in Medford. As the college grew to include the Schools of Medicine, Dental Medicine, and Veterinary Medicine, responsibility for maintaining the Boston and Grafton Campuses, in addition to the Medford/Somerville Campus, fell to the Department of Grounds and Buildings. The department was renamed the Department of Buildings and Grounds in January 1980. In 1999, the department again underwent a name change, becoming the Tufts University Facilities Department. While still charged with building and ground maintenance, the Facilities Department is also responsible for energy management, recycling, administration of the space inventory system, and planning and implementing maintenance projects.
View Online Materials
View Finding Aid
A finding aid is a description of a collection of archival material, which will help you discover what records are available for research. It provides information about a collection, the collection's creators, and an outline of the collection's contents. Learn more about finding aids.